About Us

We are faculty, staff, students, and community members around Wisconsin and beyond.  We are working to understand issues of language and dialect connected to Wisconsin, and we work with communities throughout the Midwest on research projects but also in the form of public talks and discussions, and interviews with print, radio, and television media. In our public discussions, participants help us explore how Wisconsinites talk, how our regional English has come to be so distinctive, and how the linguistic situation of Wisconsin is changing today. We’re happy to answer questions and we’re happy to come talk with folks in communities around the state.

WEP Founders

Thomas Purnell

WEP Founder; English Language & Linguistics, University of Wisconsin – Madison

tcpurnell@wisc.edu

Eric Raimy

WEP Founder; English Language & Linguistics, University of Wisconsin – Madison

raimy@wisc.edu

Joe Salmons

WEP Founder & CSUMC Director; Language Sciences, University of Wisconsin – Madison

jsalmons@wisc.edu

WEP Current Collaborators

Joshua Bousquette

Linguistics, University of Georgia

bousquet@uga.edu

Josh Brown

Languages, University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire

brownjo@uwec.edu

Cristopher Font-Santiago

English Language & Linguistics, University of Wisconsin – Madison

fontsantiago@wisc.edu

Sarah Holmstrom

Language Sciences, University of Wisconsin – Madison

slholmstrom@wisc.edu

Samantha Litty

Humboldt Fellow, Universität Flensburg

slitty@wisc.edu

Monica Macaulay

Language Sciences, University of Wisconsin – Madison, Fellow of the Linguistic Society of America

mmacaula@wisc.edu

David Natvig

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Fellow, Center for Multilingualism in Society across the Lifespan, University of Oslo

d.a.natvig@iln.uio.no

Kelsie Pattillo

Linguistics, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee

kelsie@uwm.edu

Michael T. Putnam

Germanic & Slavic, Penn State University

mtp12@psu.edu

Kathryn Remlinger

English, Grand Valley State University

remlingk@gvsu.edu

Catherine Stafford

Spanish & Portuguese, University of Wisconsin – Madison

cstafford@wisc.edu

WEP Past Collaborators

Joan Hall

Chief Editor Emerita, Dictionary of American Regional English, University of Wisconsin – Madison

jdhall@wisc.edu

Yvonne Nagel

Sr IPC Emeritus, University of Wisconsin – Madison

ynagel@math.wisc.edu

Peyton Smith

Assistant Vice Chancellor Emeritus, University of Wisconsin – Madison

Luanne von Schneidemesser

Senior Editor Emerita, Dictionary of American Regional English, University of Wisconsin – Madison

lvonschn@wisc.edu

Karen Washinawatok

Former Director, Menominee Language and Culture Commission

Erica Benson

English, University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire

bensonej@uwec.edu

Benjamin Frey

American Studies, University of North Carolina

benfrey@email.unc.edu

Mark Livengood

Story Center Director, Mid-Continent Public Library

mlivengood@mymcpl.org

Felecia Lucht

Director, Wisconsin Intensive Summer Language Institutes (WISLI)

Antje Petty

Associate Director, Max Kade Institute, University of Wisconsin – Madison

apetty@wisc.edu

Kristin Speth

Shelter Medicine, University of Wisconsin – Madison

kristin.speth@wisc.edu

Contact


If you have questions or comments about our work, please email Joe Salmons: jsalmons@wisc.edu.

Web design by Yvonne Nagel and massive work on content by Cristopher Font-Santiago and Sarah Holmstrom.